Reverse Engineering Project

Posted on

One of our major projects during JTerm is a reverse engineering project.  For this project, each student needs to choose a common medical device – I have chosen a syringe – and reverse engineer it.  I am responsible for producing sketches and writing about materials and regulations.  In addition, I must produce fully detailed models in SolidWorks.  The purpose of this assignment is for us to improve our CAD sills and to gain greater insight into medical device design and manufacture.  So far, I have found the CAD aspect of the assignment challenging but rewarding.  It has been taking a lot of time, but becoming proficient with software does not come without a significant time investment.  Certainly, in the future I will never look at a syringe in the same way.

-Thomas F

Leave a comment