CAD & php

Posted on

Today, I started the reverse engineering CAD project with the goal of reproducing a syringe using solidworks. Initially, I thought a syringe would be relatively easy to replicate sinceit seems geometrically very simple; however upon closer inspection, I began to appreciate the plastic syringe’s geometric intricacies which range from the ridges on its “pump” to the helical structure used to screw and unscrew disposable needle caps. After reading the Novo Nordisk case and upon further self reflection, I’ve come to appreciate how even the most ostensibly simple designs such as a disposable insulin pen and a syringe have arrays of meaningful design elements and require so much thought and planning in their production and use.

My personal health project has also taken on more dimension today since my partner and I plan on taking more data more often regarding my sleep schedule. While she records her caffeine intake, energy levels, sleep schedule and appetite throughout the day, I record my sleep schedule, my anxiety, my activities before bedtime and my prescribed meditation before bedtime. The php has really gotten me to be more self conscious & think more about my own health habits with regards to sleep.

Leave a comment